sixteen

Standard

image

because of the braces
his smile is closed tight
concealing

plaid is no longer cool
solid colored T-shirts preferred

when we talk
I tilt my head
back and up
and see chin

he has my brother’s eyebrows now
bequeathed

no more need
to flip socks inside out
seams touching toes
finally tolerable

he still loves his dog
more than anything
or anyone

still yells from his bed
for someone to come
scratch his head
when he can’t fall asleep

when he got behind the wheel
yesterday, driving
he asked me
if I was as relaxed as I professed
why was my right hand clutching the door

and he turned
a wide, sealed smile my way
blue eyes bright

April 2015
Julie Ayers
NaPoWriMo Day 14

IMG_0292

Leave a Reply

