The Next

Standard

  

Sunday, 11:37 AM

Surrounded by light,
we sang

Across the Universe
:
“Nothings going to change my world.”
And I left the room serene,
hopeful I could pocket the joy,
nibble at it all week.

Sunday, 1:48 PM

Surrounded by pediatric cancer survivors,
we sang
a song written by a camper
thanking donors for their support.
And I left the room anxious,
frustrated that children must suffer so,
my pocket nearly empty.

Sunday, 4:16 PM

Surrounded by bird song
I write
about what it’s like
to raise a child with a critical illness.
How you learn to only inhabit the moment,
survive all the ongoing pain
by belly flopping enthusiastically

into every pool of happy.

April 2015
Julie Ayers


NaPoWriMo Day 12

  

Leave a Reply

