Wearing the Right Sweater

Standard

Julie&friend1983

If I would have learned to play the flute
when I was nine,
would everything have been different?

Would my body still have gone rogue
if we had moved to Florida
when my mother remarried?

Where would I be if at sixteen I had turned down
that particular request for pizza and a movie
on such a bitter and glacier sharp night?

Maybe I never gave contemporary country music
enough of an unbiased chance
to penetrate my soul and influence my psyche?

What if I accepted the marriage proposal,
when I was eighteen,
from my perpetually wandering boyfriend?

Or should I have kept to the path
I vowed I’d take of never walking down the aisle,
instead adopting babies and parenting on my own?

What would have happened if I bought the large, black truck
instead of the small, red car
that didn’t have a radio or cassette tape player?

Could I have eaten a balanced diet that included plenty of leafy greens,
despite five months of horrific nausea,
when I was pregnant?

If I’d never been cut, stumbled, dropped off cliffs, or simply left to drift,
would I still love this life
with such extraordinary ferocity?

April 27, 2013
Julie Ayers
NaPoWriMo #27

3 responses »

  1. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

