Stoic In The North

Standard

IMG_5191I knew you were dying
so I held nothing back
let you know the depth of my affection
made sure you understood
the ways in which you fashioned
the very me gripping your hand

Why had I never bothered
to explain how your efforts
to save the chipmunk from sure death
trapped in our basement dryer
created a lifetime of me patiently slowing
for birds tearing at burger wrappers in the road

I knew you were dying
so I wish I had held nothing back
told you over and over that I love you
and you mattered
that you taught me to be tough
no matter how cruel the kick dealt

But all I actually said was
ā€œIā€™m here.ā€

April 3, 2013
Julie Ayers
NaPoWriMo #3

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

