Resonant Frequency

Standard

The mustard sundress
scored with muted shapes
in shades of blue and green
triangles and circles overlapping
like a piece of abstract art —
you presented me with this gift
unwrapped
still warm from where it had swung
moments before in the soft breeze
on the side of the street vendor’s tent
where it caught you
as you walked home from your day of work
accelerating plasma inside a collider donut

It looked liked something I’d wear
you said
perfectly made for my sugar-sour soul
the curve of my hips
spark and flash of my irises

On that day of woven sunshine
and faultless sky
I never felt more loved
by you

© Julie Ayers
April 2012 – NaPoWriMo 18

jka

Leave a Reply

