I Know You Want To

Standard

A stellar evening at Zombie Salon, out in night air so thick it felt like a hug, super sweet Swedish Fish martinis in hand, and nothing but talk of books, poetry, writing, reading, photography, music, the essence of beauty, and grammar police. What joy to sit secure under the awning as rain rushed down and listen to John Donne’s The Canonization superbly read by Greg. Icing! What’s better than icing? Champagne? Chocolate icing? Whatever analogy works for you, here comes something even better – things to get you writing. Come on. I know you want to. I dare you. I double dare you. Join in the joy and be a virtual member of Zombie Salon and Salon Z and take on a few literary challenges.

A Challenge:
This should be fun. Write your memoir in six words.

What six words best tells your story and reflects your essence? I’ve provided links below that explain the concept and give examples from famous folks to grocery store shelf stockers. Write one and share it on the comment section for this blog. We’ll share ours here too. There is also a national website that is collecting these memoirs (see Smith below) if you are interested in posting there as well.

NPR Books, Six-Word Memoirs: Life Stories Distilled
http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=18768430

Smith, Six Word Memoirs
http://www.smithmag.net/

A Bigger Challenge:
Now that you’ve written your brilliant six-word memoir, time to tackle something a bit bigger – write a novel in 30 days as part of NaNoWriMo. National Novel Writing Month occurs each November. This should be even more fun than the six-word memoir – and yes, a lot of work, but a-w-e-s-o-m-e!

I’m going to give it a try. Who else wants to stretch their mind, patience, sanity, and fingers come fall?

National Novel Writing Month
http://www.nanowrimo.org/

Finally, here are some Good Reads for those who can’t get enough of the end times: Favorite Apocalyptic Lit Picks by Zombie Salonites
-The Stand, Stephen King – Tara
-The Passage, Justin Cronin – Greg
-Sophie’s Choice, William Styron – Anne (when viewing the idea of apocalypse as how does a person survive once they have lost their soul and heart?)
-The Lorax, Dr. Seuss – Sandy
-Oryx and Crake, Margaret Atwood – Julie

19 responses »

  1. I spent a little time thinking about this after Zombie. Still haven’t come up with what feels perfect, but here are a few that might work …

    My mistakes have made me wise.

    Did my best with what I had. (7 words … sue me 😉 )

    Rock and roll and raising babies.

    Lived and loved and made mistakes.

    Oh my god, I need chai.

    I came, I saw, I pondered.

    • Fabulous. Yes, one is awful limiting. I know I’ll have more coming. xoxo The OMG, I need chai really resonated with me 😉 — as did all of the rest. Love to your bad self.

  2. Some more ideas for my 6-word memoir —
    Messy, jagged, life, but really rousing.

    A bitch of pain and love.

    G version: To absurd not to be true.

    Or

    PG version: I couldn’t make this shit up.

    • Greg, well done. Perfection. Reflective of your humor, personality, and special skills of writing and magic making. Hope the disappearing act doesn’t apply to your visibility at Zombie Salon though. 🙂 We really enjoyed having you at the last salon, benefited from your suggestions, and appreciated your contributions to the conversations. Having a guy there did change the dynamic some and I seemed to catch some people (including myself) seeming to self censor what they were about to say and how they said it (perhaps choosing different vocabulary with which to express themselves and softening the delivery?), but I think having a more testosterony perspective can only add to the expansive, boundary pushing, creativity inciting, intentionally challenging but supportive vibe we’re trying to foster anyway. I’m sure, soon enough, the kid gloves will be off and we’ll be comfortable and feel less like we all have to use our good company manners.

      • Thanks for your sweet comments, Julie! 😀

        You know, with a wife who brings home the bacon, and me, the at-home dad who performs the so-called traditional role of housewife, my kids have a skewed sense of who I am. Max, especially, thinks I’m more of a woman than his mother. (No joke.) And the thing is, he might be right! xD

        I mention this by way of saying: please don’t self-censor yourself on my account. Having lived in the world of homeschooling for five years–a world that’s inhabited almost exclusively by women–I have learned to talk about yeast infections and hormonal inbalances with the best of them. 🙂

        As an aside, I uploaded a profile picture on WordPress. I thought it might carry over to Salon Z.

        Cheers,
        Greg

  3. Great, then I can feel free to unleash my feminist rants, especially directed at so called foundation garments, which I believe only erode the foundation of most women’s self esteem and sense of freedom and personal ease. One of my favorite rants that seems to come up frequently. Or, more succinctly, bras suck and are really uncomfortable and unnecessary. If it is socially acceptable for men to go bra-less and even shirtless at times, women should be afforded the same privileges.

Leave a Reply

