The Mifflin Street Cotillion

Standard

A sweet poem for my sweetie on our 23rd wedding anniversary. My mom should be delighted as I’m actually posting a happy poem. šŸ˜€

Who would have thought
as I balanced, exhausted on your knees
as you sat on the old kitchen chair
in the middle of the road

21-year-old me in my pink Laura Ashley dress
that Iā€™d just bought in London
where Iā€™d been backpacking
with my now ex-boyfriend
My hands skinned with white gloves

We let the rain soak us
laughing, delighted by it
Let the drops
cool the fire that dancing
drinking and talking ignited

You in your bow tie
and Union Jack socks
the brown retro sports coat
from Goodwill
with cuffs a bit too short

The debutante with her Mohawk
and 1950ā€™s prom dress
The drunken limo driver
REM blaring from speakers
The wood floor of the old blue house
flexing with the pounding feet
of ecstatic dancers
Drunken reeling

My ex glaring at us
from the sidewalk
Thinking me at the party
meant a reconciliation
A new start

And it was

Who would have thought
I could still be perched on your knees
now
grey in my hair
laugh lines, born from our laughter that night
gracing our faces

March 2011
j. ayers

About Julie Ayers

Seasoned apocaloptimist, keen admirer of well-placed words, fierce mama bear of extra special children, black belt hugger, and advocate for a fashion rebellion which elevates the most human of hearts to socially acceptable outerwear.

2 responses »

  1. this is really sweet, guessing it was a much appreciated anniversary gift.
    i’m not your mom, and i know all too well that most art is borne of suffering, but i, too, am happy to see a happy post.
    just cuz we love you.
    -xd

Leave a Reply

