My Oath of Imperfection

Standard

I’m quite content living in the realm of good enough. Long ago, I realized that for me at least, perfection appears to be nothing but a myth. I will never have the perfect intellect, personality, sense of humor, point of view, hair, eyesight, writing, body, political philosophy, Pilates pose, parenting approach, or behavior. Someone will undoubtedly find fault, me included, with whatever I put out there for the world.

Instead, I believe it’s all about the intent and attempt. What is the motivation? Am I trying to be thought-full, reflective, joyful, healthy, loving, authentic, amusing, true? Am I really trying? Am I pushing myself to learn something new, try something new, explore, explore, explore and then think, think, think? Am I trying to stretch and grow? Am I applying lessons learned through painful, previous failures or missteps or simply repeating the same mistakes? Is this as good as I can do right now with my physical and emotional energy, time, and all the resources available?

Anything I share here, anything I write, I’ll always consider a work in progress. It will never be done. Nothing is ever done. I’m unabashedly unafraid of being seen as imperfect — or not even very good on occasion. But hopefully, sometimes, my efforts will be perceived as good enough, or even, maybe, flat-out good or very good.

I shared two versions of a poem I wrote called Naked not long ago on this blog. Several kind folks “voted” on Facebook as to which version of the poem moved them the most and the version they preferred. There was no clear winner. There wasn’t a right version of the poem or a wrong version. There wasn’t a perfect version — but they both were good enough to make people react and respond.

So, when you visit this blog and see a post from me, suspend your expectation of a perfect piece of writing to follow. This is all about the process – about growing as a writer and reader, sharing with, and learning from, others. I hope you feel moved enough to leave the occasional, or regular, comment. School me and the other contributors and authors. Challenge us and we’ll try and challenge you. And I pinky-swear-promise that each time you offer the gift of visiting this site and reading something I’ve left behind, I will give you the very best I can do right now – and I hope for you, and for me, that will be good enough.

About Julie Ayers

Seasoned apocaloptimist, keen admirer of well-placed words, fierce mama bear of extra special children, black belt hugger, and advocate for a fashion rebellion which elevates the most human of hearts to socially acceptable outerwear.

One response »

  1. You are awesome. I remember just a few years ago that I heard the expression “Perfection is the enemy of the good” for the first time. I wrote it on a piece of paper and put it on the fridge. It is still there because I need reminding of this constantly. Your willingness to put your writing out here – no matter how “imperfect” – is an inspiration. 🙂

Leave a Reply

